Thursday, March 18, 2010

Lankavatara Sutra Chapter 3, Section LVII

To say it again,  I'm using the translation here, and as usual, and I'm just doing this as an ordinary guy.

The core of this section is this:

The Blessed One then said this: There are three kinds of will-body, Mahāmati. What are the three? They are: (1) the will-body obtained in the enjoyment of the Samādhi; (2) the will-body obtained by recognising the self-nature of the Dharma; and (3) the will-body which is assumed [by a Bodhisattva according to] the class of beings [to be saved] and which perfects and achieves [without a thought of its own achievement]. By realising the higher stages successively after the first is attained, the Yogin will experience them [all].

 In going through this I am struck by how closely Zen practice is framed from this, despite how it might appear in the West.  It might also be considered a "guide" to the practitioner insofar as it would highlight to the practitioner that "this" is how you might be experiencing your practice. In particular...

What is the will-body obtained by recognising the self-nature of the Dharma? When [the Yogin] of the the eighth stage has a thoroughgoing penetration into the nature of things which is like Māyā and not image-producing, he experiences a revulsion at the seat of consciousness and obtains the Samādhi known as Māyā-like and other Samādhis..

When [the Yogin] is thoroughly conversant with all the characteristics of self-realisation and its bliss which pervades the teachings of the Buddha, he is said to have the body which is will-made, born with [the class], perfecting and achieving..

 This is the direction in which to be going.

No comments: